Fighting Fear

We went to Lake Titiwangsa today. Ajib had his first horse ride. Liya as always enjoyed her rides. We then headed towards the new playground. Colourful, creative and sturdy (parents may give it a try). My husband and I stayed near enough. We prevented ourselves from helping Ajib and Liya too much. We allowed them to explore and experience the slides, monkey bar, hanging bridge and many more.

I waited for Ajib to come down the slide. The platform had many holes. Ajib walked cautiously. He looked quite nervous. At the beginning, I heard Ajib humming while matching his steps. He tried quite a number of games. At other instances, I saw he was biting his lips.

He gave up at the elevated hanging bridge. Ajib was panicked and then cried. He managed to go 1/3 of the bridge before deciding he had enough for one day. It was far too scary for Ajib to force for another step. Hand-in-hand, Ajib and I retreated. We may try again, at Ajib’s pace…I was there for him with all motherly’s unconditional love. I didn’t make any comment. I was all ears…

Leave a comment